CAN I GET A WITNESS?!?!?!?!

5 12 2008

So this is a very personal post. Only a few people really know about this incident. Funny how we are more open in virtual space than in real life but here goes anyway. I was involved in a car accident this past Tues Nov. 18. as I was headed to Bellflower Unified to fill out hiring papers for substitute teaching. The accident occurred as I was driving down the 710N at about 8:45am. I was in the furthest lane to the left (i.e. “the fast lane”). A car in the lane to the right of me tries to merge into my lane but doesn’t check his blind spot. I begin to slow down and honk but the guy keeps coming. In an effort to avoid getting hit, I brake and slighty veerleft as my car swerves swiping the center divider and spinning outta control. Basically I’m diagonally facing traffic.

HERE’S SOME PICS OF THE DAMAGE…

img_1655

*LEFT BUMPER: THE SIDE THAT ATE THE DIVIDERimg_1665

*RIGHT SIDEimg_1652*TOP SIDE

To make matters worse, a CHP officer that coincidentally was driving pass the site of the accident turned out to be unhelpful. The only helpful thing he did was hold traffic back so I could pull of to the right shoulder of the freeway. He didn’t really give a fuck about the state of shock or trauma that I was experiencing one bit. I asked him if I needed to report the accident to DMV or anything else…His response, “Did you get a licensce plate? Nothing can really be done without that. All they can do is take down the report.” He also added that he wouldn’t be the one to do it because it wasn’t his jurisdiction. At this moment, I’m thinking…”What a worthless piece of shit you are officer” and “How the hell was I supposed to remember the plate when my car is hitting the center divider and spinning outta control!!! Also what he was inferring was the the best case scenerio was to just get hit and make sure the accident would occur so the other driver’s car couldn’t get away! R U SERIOUS!!??!?!

Well, now all i could do was take it up with my insurance company. I tried my best to shake off the shock/trauma I was feeling and proceeded to head out to Bellflower and fill out my hiring papers.

At the end of the day all I could be really thankful for is my safety. Material objects can be replaced but not an arm or a leg. And the friends and family that I talked to also echoed the same sentiment cuz things could always be worst..rite!?!?!

I’ve been reflecting and reflecting lately…To me, everything that occurs is a microcosm that reflects the condition of our society. I started to consider of the different “what ifs” that might have happened if the scenerio played out differently. What if this other driver would’ve hit me, how would the accident have turned out? Would I really walk away from it unharmed? What other cars might be affected? I also thought, what if this was a person. A life would be saved but would I be looked at as a selfless hero or would the public think I was some crazy driver and that it was my fault. I felt that I did the most natural and human thing I could have possibly done = avoid the accident. When you see someone going to hit you, you dodge…but the “law”, the insurance company, is trying to make me feel as if I did the wrong thing. To do the right thing in this society is to do the wrong thing. How backwards and primitive is that? I remember the words of a friend saying, “When you’re doing things that are right, just, and correct. A system that is wrong, unjust, and incorrect won’t allow for these things to happen”. The quote was said in response to the educational system but it can be applied to our society on a whole. All I can say is that my thoughts, my energy, and my strength goes out to all those who continue to suffer in silence as they do things that are right and just. Our struggles are not lost…we will truimph!!!

Actions

Information

2 responses

9 12 2008
cell

I’m glad you are okay and no one was harmed.
I feel your frustration.

18 12 2008
BACK TO BACK: BAY TO LB TO BAY « soul nice

[…] and only sub twice again. Then I got hired on with Bellflower Unified and this was the day the car accident happened. This is the incident that put me over the tipping point. Since being hired with […]

Leave a Reply

